U.S. & World Coin News and Articles

President Obama Nominates New U.S. Mint Director

Image by The Telegraph

On September 20, 2012 President Obama nominated Bibiana Boerios as the new United States Mint Director. If President Obama gets re-elected and the U.S. Senate confirms Boerio as the new Director, this would make Boerios the 39th Director of the U.S. Mint.

The official Mint Director position for the U.S. Mint has been open since January 2011. Since then, Richard A. Peterson has been overseeing the day to day Mint Operations. The U.S. Mint is currently the world’s largest manufacturer of coins, medals and several other numismatic products. To view a list of the previous Mint Directors, click here.

PCGS Library