2009-D $1 Zachary Taylor First Day of Issue, Position A MS66

PCGS#: 409728

Owner's Comments

Expert Comments

Jaime Hernandez: Zachary Taylor was the 12th President of the United States. Therefore, the James Polk Dollar was also the 12th design issued in the Presidential Dollar Coin Program.

Obverse: A portrait of Zachary Taylor is featured on the coin along with the inscriptions, Zachary Taylor which are located right above his own portrait. Arched below Taylor, are the inscriptions, 12th President 1849-1850, or the years in which he served as President of the United States.   Reverse: The reverse of the coin features the Statue of Liberty along with a $1 symbol under Liberty’s right arm, with the $1 symbol, indicating the legal tender value of the coin. The words, United States of America, are also encircled around the coin.   Edge: The edge inscriptions will read 2009-D which refer to the date in which the coins were officially released into circulation, along with the D mint mark, representing the Mint in which the coins were produced. Circulation strike coins go through a Schuler edge lettering machine which applies inscriptions on the coins edge.    Position A: The coin's edge lettering reads upside-down when the President's portrait faces up.    Release Date: The Zachary Taylor circulation strike Presidential Dollars were officially released on November 19, 2009.   First Day of Issue: Coins submitted to PCGS on or before November 19, 2009, qualified to receive a special First Day of Issue label on the PCGS holder.   Public Law: Zachary Taylor Dollars were struck under the Presidential Dollar Coin Program Act, which was authorized under Public Law 109-145.

Diameter: 26.50 millimeters Designer: Don Everhart Edge: Lettered
Mintage: N/A Weight: 8.10 grams Metal Content: 88.5% Copper, 6% Zinc, 3.5% Manganese and 2% Nickel