American Innovation Dollar

Obverse American Innovation Dollar
Reverse American Innovation Dollar

Select a Coin:

This program was officially launched by the United States Mint on December 14th, 2018 by issuing a coin commemorating George Washington’s signing of the first patent issued into law. Four new coins will be released each year that celebrate innovations and innovators from each of the fifty states, The District of Colombia, and the five U.S. Territories (Guam, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Northeast Mariana, and the U.S. Virgin Islands).

The release of these coins will be based on the order in which the states were ratified by Constitution of the United States or when they were admitted into the Union. Depicted on the obverse of the coin is the Statue of Liberty. The obverse design will remain the same throughout the duration of the issue until its completion in 2032. Only the reverse design will change upon issuance of new coinage each year after the Security of the Treasury selects the final design.

Uncirculated issues will be struck at Denver and Philadelphia bearing the “D” and “P” marks respectively. None of these coins will be released into circulation. These uncirculated issues will only be available through the United States Mint in special bags and rolls at a premium. Most of the uncirculated issues will generally grade anywhere from MS65 to MS66. The Proof and Reverse Proof issues will be struck at the San Francisco Mint with the “S” mintmark. These coins will be issued in special packaging and accompanied with a Certificate of Authenticity.