2010-P $1 James Buchanan Position A (Regular Strike)

Series: (None)

Phoebe Hemphill/Don Everhart
26.50 millimeters
8.10 grams
77% Copper, 12% Zinc, 1% other over a pure Copper core
Current Auctions - PCGS Graded
Current Auctions - NGC Graded
For Sale Now at Collectors Corner - PCGS Graded
For Sale Now at Collectors Corner - NGC Graded
Jaime Hernandez:

James Buchanan was the fifteenth President of the United States. Therefore, the James Buchanan Dollar was also the fifteenth design issued in the Presidential Dollar Coin Program.

Obverse: A portrait of James Buchanan is featured on the coin along with the inscriptions, James Buchanan which are located right above his own portrait. Arched below Buchanan, are the inscriptions, IN GOD WE TRUST, 15th President 1857-1861, or the years in which he served as President of the United States.
Reverse: The reverse of the coin features the Statue of Liberty along with a $1 symbol under Liberty’s right arm, with the $1 symbol, indicating the legal tender value of the coin. The words, United States of America, are also encircled around the coin.
Edge: The edge will have the inscriptions 2010 which refer to the date in which the coins were officially released into circulation, along with the P mint mark, representing the Mint in which the coins were produced. Circulation strike coins go through a Schuler edge lettering machine which applies inscriptions on the coins edge.
Position A: The coin's edge lettering reads upside-down when the President's portrait faces up.
Release Date: The James Buchanan circulation strike Presidential Dollars were officially released on August 19, 2010.